Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Honda headsets or Autocom system?
The wifes decided she would like to start coming on the Wing with me in the summer, but I'm not sure whether to try and get some Honda headsets and use the on bike system, or get the Autocom system. The Autocom 200 Duo systems seems quite good for £116 all in, as you can use a mobile phone, MP3, etc. I'm just not sure as I have never used any Intercom before.
Any advice or opinions?
Thanks,
Hamish
#1 02-08-2008, 02:58 PM,
Not being ones for music when we're on the road, we went with the IMC setup which hooks right in to the Honda system. We can chat and use the cb just fine. You can have a look at <!-- w --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.imc-electronics.com">http://www.imc-electronics.com</a><!-- w --> Very good quality and reasonably priced.
#2 02-21-2008, 05:16 PM,
Thanks Ian. I have opted for the Autocom system which I have just installed. I'll see how it performs in the spring.
Hamish
#3 02-21-2008, 11:51 PM,
Post a report once you've tested the Autocom, Hamish. They'll be lots in interest, I suspect.
#4 02-22-2008, 11:04 AM,
Here is how my install went.

I brought an Autocom active 7 system complete with 1 headset and mic from ebay for £36 ($71 Can). I have it fitted into the tool tray, which I cut a slot into for the power and headset cables to exit. The unit is wired via an in-line fuse to the accessories output on the fuse box. Both headset cables are then routed under the seat exiting on the left, the rides connector in front of the left pannier, the passengers is taped above the pannier.

Hi have a Nolan flip up full face helmet. Fitting the speakers and mic was simply a matter of removing the 2 pads that were fitted in the recess for the speakers and routing the speakers to the correct positon and fixing to the velcro already in the helmet. The mic fits between the helmet and cheek pad, with all the extra cabling stuffed behind the padding around the back of the neck.