Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
1986 Aspencade Running issues.
So I recently picked up a 1986 Honda Goldwing Aspencade GL1200.

To start, before buying it the bike sat for about 2 years outside and supposedly under a tarp.
It was listed on Craigslist for $750 and was in pretty good condition cosmetically so being someone that liked the style of this year/model I said why not.

Previously I owned a 1985 Honda VF500F Interceptor that I bought barely running and after cleaning and sync'ing the carbs along with some valve adjustments it ran great.

I'm an ASE certified auto mechanic so most of this stuff comes natural to me, especially when it comes to older and sometimes more simple engines.

So when I went to pick this bike up, I put a brand new battery in it (even filled the acid myself) and hooked it up to my truck to jump start it since the battery was still new and not fully charged.
It took quite a bit to get it to fire up, and when it did it was backfiring and chugging like crazy.
I put a can of seafoam in it along with about 4 gallons of new gas and eventually got it running to a point that it was good enough for me to drive home.

On the way home it would not go above 3500rpm while in gear and would almost stall when going up a hill. Basically the bike had absolutely no power at all.

So basically I get it home and the first thing I do is pull the carb assembly out and start going through all the jets and cleaning two years of gas out of the bowl and every little passage. I used carb cleaner, compressed air and I soaked the bowls in my parts washer.

I did not remove the carbs from the main intake box. I only removed the tops and bottom bowls of the carbs without unscrewing them from the main assembly.

I put the carb assembly back in the bike and I basically get the same thing...
A little backfiring, no power to even take off in first gear without chugging badly and it smells badly of fuel as if it is running very rich.